top of page

The verdicts in the Rabochy Rukh case were left unchanged

Ten political prisoners were sentenced to terms from 11 to 15 years in prison. All of them were accused of "high treason", as well as a number of other articles of the Criminal Code. All political prisoners pleaded not guilty in the case.

Rabochy Ruch
Political prisoners of Rabochy Ruch

On 28 July, the Supreme Court considered the appeals of the political prisoners. The decision was made by the judicial board chaired by Judge Uladzimir Davydau. It is expected that in the near future the political prisoners will be transferred to colonies.

The Supreme Court approved the punishments:

Siarhei Shelest – 14 years in prison; Uladzimir Zhurauka – 15 years in prison; Andrei Paheryla – 14 years in prison; Hanna Ablab – 11 years in prison; Aliaksandr Hashnikau – 14 years in prison; Siarhei Dziuba – 12 years in prison; Ihar Mints – 12 years in prison; Valiantsin Tseranevich – 12 years in prison; Siarhei Shametka – 12 years in prison; Aliaksandr Kapshul – 15 years in prison.

In addition, fines ranging from 100 to 500 basic units are stipulated for those convicted. Among the convicted there are 6 activists of the Belarusian Independent Trade Union.

"Rabochy Rukh" was founded in 2020. It brought together Belarusian workers, including leaders and activists of strikes and trade unions.

Read this text in бел or рус


bottom of page