top of page

Eight countries joined the EU sanctions against Lukashenka's regime

Among those affected are representatives of law enforcement agencies, judges, propagandists and state-owned companies.

Eight non-European Union member states have joined the latest sanctions, imposed by the EU against the Belarusian authorities, according to the press service of the Council of Europe. The restrictions, applied to 38 individuals and three companies of Belarus, were extended to Switzerland, Northern Macedonia, Albania, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. These countries joined the latest sanctions, adopted by the EU against Belarus on August 3.

It is emphasized that the targets of the sanctions were Belarusian prosecutors, judges, former and current employees of correctional institutions, propagandists - a total of 38 people, as well as three companies: Belneftekhim, BMZ - managing company of BMK holding and Minsk Electrotechnical Plant.

It is noted that Switzerland had also previously extended sanctions against the Belarusian regime.

Among other things, the sanctions package includes bans on exports of various equipment and raw materials, technologies and dual-use goods, asset freezing and entry restrictions.

Read this text in бел or рус


bottom of page